American Association of Petroleum Geologists

The Rocky Mountain Section of the AAPG represents AAPG members residing in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico (with the exception of the southeastern corner), Nevada, North Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.

The RMS works with its 11 affiliated societies to hold an annual meeting which is held every year in various locations throughout the Rocky Mountain region. Topics addressed include current hydrocarbon exploration and production, unconventional resources, advances in structural geology and stratigraphy, resource opportunities in a geologic context, advances in geophysics and rock mechanics, and related government and policy issues.